a new hope robyn carr review

 

Title: A new hope
Author: Robyn Carr
Publisher: Mira books
Genre: Romance, Drama
Date: 30 June 2015
My rating: 3/5

Buy here on bookdepository or Amazon

This post contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission for purchases made through my links

A new hope

Ginger has been through a lot. She got divorced and lost her baby when he was just a couple of months old. Now she moved from Portland to Thunder Point and to start over. She finds a job at a flower store and she lives with a family member. One night she is going to a wedding of a friend and there is one guy who is extremely drunk and annoying. He tries to touch her and have sex with her, but she pushes him away. The next day Matt wants to apologize for his behavior and he takes Ginger out for dinner. And that is the start of something new.

Review

Robyn Carr is the author of the series Virgin Rivers. I haven’t read the books yet, but I loved the Netflix series. 

This book fits in the same category as virgin rivers. The mand and the woman both went through a lot. Matt and Ginger both had a terrible marriage and so much more. They don’t want to be in a new relationship right now. But since their first unofficial date, they kind of fell in love. The problem is that they have to let go of their past.

I loved Virgin Rivers. So I kind of had high expectations for this book. One thing annoyed me though. Every couple in books (and movies too) want to marry so fast. Why the rush? Do you really have to get married after knowing each other for 3 months? I had the same thoughts for this book. But maybe I just didn’t like Matt and Ginger that much. Sometimes when I read a romantic novel I really ship the couples and hope they will have a happy ending. I didn’t ship Matt and Ginger as a couple.

It was not a bad book at all. Sometimes you read books that won’t give you that feeling. The feeling of loving a book, falling in love with a book. And maybe my expectations were too high. All of that is okay, you just can’t love every single book. However, I did like it, I just didn’t love it. 

Robyn Carr is a recommendation when you want to read romantic books with a little bit of drama. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Jill Shalvis.

Do you know Robyn Carr?

Comments

comments

advert-image