red queen


Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 400
My Rating: 7.5/10

Buy on Amazon or Book depository

Red Queen

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood–those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own. To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard–a growing Red rebellion–even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.

One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

Review

Normally, I read a lot of books about two adults falling in love but this time I found the Red Queen e-book for only 99 cents and I bought it. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere. It is extremely popular and I wanted to find out why. And stepping out of my comfort zone every now and then is good for me.

But yes, I can definitely understand why this book (series) is so popular because I really enjoyed reading this. And the plot twists were awesome. Like really awesome, because I didn’t see them coming and I was shocked. Like really shocked. I think that is one of the reasons why I couldn’t put this book down. It surprised me in a good way.

And now I kind of want to find out what will happen next. What will happen with Mare Barrow, Cal, and the rest? I think this is just the beginning of the stories. I think book 2 (Glass Sword) is going to be the start of this revolution. I think this book was just getting ready for the revolution in this world of Red and Silvers. And I have this feeling that this series is going to be amazing. But I try to lower my expectations because I’ve read The Divergent series and while I really loved the first book (and movie), I didn’t like the rest of the series. But I still want to find out what will happen next in this series.

It was great to step out of my comfort zone. Yes, normally I read a lot of romance but there are so many great genres. And I think I should do it more often.

I think this book is a great book for fans of Divergent, The Hunger Games, and maybe for fans of The Shadowhunters series. It is a great fantasy book.

Read more book reviews:
Becky Albertalli – Simon vs the homo sapiens agenda
Jo Watson – Love you, Love you not

Comments

comments

advert-image